Posted on

Insanity

So I’ve been walking to pick my son up from school.  It’s not far, just about ten minutes each way.

For some reason, I had a brilliant idea today:  Why not run, at least part of the way?

Why not?  Because, I’m not a runner, that’s why!

I tried it anyway.  You know what?  It didn’t suck.  At least, not too bad.  I might even be willing to go for a longer walk/run, if in short bursts like I did today.  You see, that’s the trick.  At least, that’s what the “how to run” articles on the running websites day.  The secret trick is intervals.  Walk some, run some, walk some more to recover.

Another “secret” is the length of time to go.  I’ve always been under the impression that you need to dedicate excruciatingly long times to it, especially in the beginning.  Nope.  Everything I’m reading says 20-30 minutes and no more.  Did you see that there?  No more than 20-30 minutes to begin with. I’ve always seen people running for miles or hours and figured that I needed to do the same to get to their level.  I’ve also realized that if I ever attempted to do the same, I’d never survive the day.  Start with short times and distances and eventually you’ll be able to go harder and farther.

It all seems so obvious now that I think about it.  I have a feeling that changing my attitude from “I can’t ever do that,” to “This is something that I want to do,” might help a little too…

It was HOT, I was wearing cotton shorts, I started thirsty and, if I’ve failed to mention it, I am not a runner.  Knowing all these things, I ran anyhow.  Not far.  By no means far enough to regret any of the “bad” variables.  My heart felt like it was going to pump right out of my chest and it was hard to breathe, but it felt good.  Heck, I might even do that again.

Read any running magazine, blog, book, or ad and you’ll quickly run across the term “PR” or “Personal Record.”  Running seems to be about setting PRs, then breaking them.  I started wondering if I was ever going to be able to break my own PR, or how I’d go about knowing if I ever set one.

I realized that today, I set a PR.

I ran.

You see, that’s the great thing about PRs.  They’re personal.  They don’t have to be amazing to anyone but you.

2 responses to “Insanity

  1. Peter F ⋅

    Great job! Set those PRs!

  2. robrdavis ⋅

    Thanks Peter!

Leave a Reply

